About us

Listen to LCO Rebroadcasts on WUKY!

The Lexington Chamber Orchestra is announcing their recent partnership with the WUKY Essential Classics. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the orchestra is unable to offer any live performances for audiences in Central Kentucky for the time being. However, WUKY will re-broadcast several fan-favorite performances to bring concerts right into listeners’ homes — complete with musical commentary from the Maestro.

The performances will air on WUKY’s HD-2 channel, Essential Classics. Listeners who do not have an HD radio or who live outside Central Kentucky can listen online via WUKY.org, with their smart speaker (say “Play WUKY HD Two”) or with the WUKY phone app available from the Google Play Store or Apple App Store.

Since we can’t see you at the concert hall, please consider an online contribution to us!

Tuesday, July 14 – 7:00 PM (WUKY.org)
Sunday, July 19 – 12:00 PM (WUKY.org)

Originally performed September 30th & October 1st, 2017

Featuring works by Mendelssohn, Respighi, and Schubert with guest artist Catherine Clarke Nardolillo, soprano

Tuesday, July 21 – 7:00 PM (WUKY.org)
Sunday, July 26 – 12:00 PM (WUKY.org)

Originally performed November 11th & 12th, 2017

With guest artist Scott Wright, clarinet

Tuesday, July 28 – 7:00 PM (WUKY.org)
Sunday, August 2 – 12:00 PM (WUKY.org)

Originally performed February 3rd & 4th, 2018

Featuring works by J.S. Bach, Mahler, and Pizzola with guest artist Kyung Sun Lee, violin

Tuesday, August 4 – 7:00 PM (WUKY.org)
Sunday, August 9 – 12:00 PM (WUKY.org)

Originally performed April 14th & 15th, 2018

Featuring works by Part, Chopin, Janáček with guest artist Gregory Partian, piano

Tuesday, August 11 – 7:00 PM (WUKY.org)
Sunday, August 16 – 12:00 PM (WUKY.org)

Originally performed March 2nd & 3rd, 2019

Featuring works by Haydn, Vanhal, Mendelssohn with guest artist David Murray, bass

Tonic for a crisis

In light of the restrictions on daily life resulting from the Corona Virus pandemic, the Lexington Chamber Orchestra wants to maintain our relationship with our audiences and community. Therefore, we’re happy to make available videos of past performances that you may enjoy at home while we’re all homebound. We hope you keep us in mind when better days arrive.

The Lexington Chamber Orchestra is currently in its fifth season, and the first season under the management of the Chamber Music Festival of Lexington!

Our merger, which was formalized during the summer of 2019, represents an opportunity to bring the Festival’s 13 seasons of experience and operational economies to support this fine Orchestra and ensure that it continues to bring you a musical experience unavailable elsewhere in Central Kentucky, performed by talented local musicians. One of the Orchestra’s central goals is to bring chamber music to as many community members as possible without the barrier of a set ticket price. Therefore, we continue the Orchestra’s “Name Your Own Ticket Price” policy, which allows our patrons to select a ticket price that fits their budget and provide opportunities to Pay it Forward!

The Lexington Chamber Orchestra is governed by the Chamber Music Festival of Lexington. For more info about CMFL's board of directors visit their website: https://chambermusiclex.org/

Lexington Chamber Orchestra Inc. is a public charity exempt from federal income tax under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 501(c)(3). Donations may qualify as charitable deductions for federal income tax purposes; please consult with your tax adviser or the IRS to determine if your contribution is deductible.

The mission of the Lexington Chamber Orchestra is:

“To call people into higher awareness and deeper community through the beauty of chamber music.”

Much of life is focused on survival and immediate needs. Art reminds us that life is not only about survival, calling us to contemplate transcendent beauty and to connect more deeply with others. Without art, people can find themselves “chasing after the wind.” Everyday life is often about meeting the needs of the body, while art addresses the needs of the soul.

Chamber music is an art form that communicates emotion and meaning in a powerful and unique way. The chamber orchestra provides both power and intimacy: it tells stories on a grander scale than a string quartet, while bringing the audience closer than is possible with a symphony. Our goal is to produce chamber orchestra and small ensemble concerts that touch people and draw them together.

Our values are:

  • To build a professional ensemble, always striving for artistic excellence. Our talented musicians are paid, and we treat them with great respect.
  • To take a balanced artistic approach, honoring both old and new art, keeping in harmony tradition, experimentation, and relevance. We perform both standard repertoire and new or rarely heard compositions. Our programs are both challenging and fun.
  • To produce programs that are accessible even for people who are not regular concert attenders. We offer free admission to draw in new fans and people of all backgrounds and rely on the good will of our community for support.
  • To use primarily local Drawing on Lexington’s talent pool increases the stability and therefore the quality of our ensemble, and this is another way we serve our community.

Each of these values will support our mission to challenge people and grow relationships through solid performance of great music.

2020 Members:

Jan Pellant, Music Director


Margie Karp, Concertmaster
Drew Sarette
Amanda Milburn
Mary Elizabeth Henton
Sarah Glenn
Julie Lastinger
Julie Foster
Elizabeth Steva
Grace Doty


Michael Hill, Principal
Monica Stock
Dale Jones
Lubitza Braikova


Rebecca Kiekenapp, Principal
Abbye Allan
Patrick Binford


Eli Uttal-Veroff, Principal
Tyler Turcotte

Special Personnel:

Preston Ratliff, Percussion
Dominique Bellon, Oboe
Misty Tolle, Horn


Gregory Pettit, President
Edd MacKey, Vice-President
Rory Harris, Treasurer
William Adams, Secretary
Edward L. Bowen
David Elbon
Linda Griffin
Dale Jones
Susan Masterman
Amanda Milburn
John Nardolillo
Michael Potapov
Eli Uttal-Veroff
Richard Young


Taylor Jewell, Executive Director


Jan Pellant, Music Director


Jim Clark
Frank Close
Gordon Cole
Kris Cole
Marcello Cormio